Thank you for welcoming me to your world

 

After all these years working in conformity assessment, I finally had the time to get to know IEC in the Philippines. Thank you for the welcome, it was nice to see how these things work, I totally appreciate your support. It makes the work a lot easier given your passion and drive.  With the significance of IEC standards in refrigeration and air conditioning energy performance and safety and  add those other electrical and electronic equipment I encounter daily, I could not help but think what makes something I use safe and efficient, moreover mitigate greenhouse gas emissions.

The 5th Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change recognizes that the adoption of standards can provide an effective framework for undertaking climate change mitigation. Though the work was not really focused on climate change but on safety and efficiency of new and emerging technologies in electrical and electronic equipment and systems, the work does have concrete emission reduction potential.

Though the potential to  mitigate GHG emissions was not the intent, slowly these guys recognize the significance of the Paris Agreements and how the energy sector is now relying on improved energy efficiency as a major climate action to meet the goals in the Nationally Determined Contributions.

As of now…there’s more work to do.



Leave a comment

About Me

More than twenty years working on the field, trying to save the environment. With climate change the most pressing issue the world is now facing, I’m the busiest ever. My kids have grown up, I have gained a couple of advanced degrees and specialized training on greenhouse gas verification, disillusionment does come with age.

Newsletter