OH my S! No turning back, I guess.

ghs-pictograms2-700x694On April 21, 2015, I wrote a post about going into Health & Safety as part of my work responsibility and finding my level of expertise too shallow.

Good industry experience is essential to gain expertise, but the lack of professional direction,  mentorship, technical supervision and even the lack of audit assignments on OH&S was extremely frustrating on my part. Such condition have partially led to my decision to seek change.

I have been thinking hard about it for the past year, but additional academic experience on Occupational Health & Safety may extinguish this extreme frustration like a fire fighting equipment designed for a particular type of fire. Giving small toolbox talks on fire awareness, slips trips and fall or travel safety in a small office predominated by back office staff is not a highlight of my career. It seems like a sideline, particularly if you did it in your last trimester of pregnancy under orders of bed rest from my Ob-Gyn.  I find that so pathetic and frustrating.  There is more to life than this.

My maternity leave did offer an avenue for reflection and a year after a tumultuous mindset, small changes and efforts have led to some good results.  I have a new job on Climate Change Mitigation and I have been accepted to pursue further graduate studies in Occupational Health.  At the end of the day, there are a lot of things in my life that I have to be thankful about, even if it took a year of reflecting and contemplating.

1024px-GHS-pictogram-explos.svgWhen I was interviewed into the MOH program in UP Manila, I was reminded that I was still young.  So what if I did not get any specific qualification at the moment? I am still young. I am still in my mid-thirties. There is no other choice but to move forward with confidence (I love that tagline….hahaha).  Change does not need to be explosive, it can be a quiet proactive process.

Leave a comment

Filed under Career Notes, Climate Change, Quality, Health, Safety & Environment

Leave a Reply

