An opportunity is an opportunity

Due to incomplete documentation, my scholarship applications have been unsuccessful, maybe going back to the academe is not my thing. Every time I direct my attention to become an academic, or teaching per se, a minor lapse or glitch always prevents me from further pursuit of that line of work.

I already gained my masters degree more than five years ago and the five years lull have been quite a disadvantage in moving towards a doctorate.  Though that door had closed, I guess a greater opportunity is in place on my part in terms of focusing and polishing my technical skills in GHG verification.

Similarly, I had such an experience in my initial forays into EMS auditing, EIA preparation and any specialized skill I have gained for the past 13 years.  I may feel some jitters and I would initially start questioning my competence, but I guess that makes me a normal person, I have encountered a few who pretend to know a lot, when in fact, they are just as hollow as rotten logs. I would rather be humble and prove myself worthy.

Teaching would have been a lot easier, but whatever force or lets say Higher Power is pushing me towards this highly specialized field…maybe it is for my good, but  that good is quite, hmmm difficult, analyzing that much data could give me such a headache.  Well, at times I would imagine myself working for a non-profit organization or just sitting in an office supporting HSE stuff….but current opportunities are in places where I have to be in fire retardant personal protective equipment…maybe the hazard pay is good, but is it for the good of mankind?

An opportunity is an opportunity, sometimes you have to go through certain paths, though difficult is essential for your growth, teaching is an easy path…but I guess I may be needed somewhere else.

Leave a comment

Filed under Climate Change, Corporate Social Responsibility, Environmental Audit, GHG Mitigation Effort, Sustainability

Leave a Reply

