Feeling Electric

I have to admit, I am paranoid about electrical consumption. I have had a very bad experience in the past and someone knowing me personally could understand this mindset of how valuable electricity is to me. The problem however is that none in my family share this same passion about becoming  energy efficient and saving on power cost as if electricity is as free flowing as water…well that’s another problem!

News came out that there will be an increase in power rates in Metro Manila, people could not understand why electricity is so expensive, it is dictated by the market and the infrastructure available.  The market is forcing us to become energy efficient and that does not give us the right to pilfer electricity. This mindset is an economic failure, everyone around me wants to pilfer energy and I have realized how easy it is to do something like that after having the electrical wiring at home fixed. Any electrician can do it.

Honestly, it is very difficult to produce energy. A number of EDC personnel are currently perishing in Kananga, Leyte due to landslides in the geothermal field. I have  been to Kananga and have also seen natural gas, coal, bunker and hydroelectric plants and everything is complicated and difficult.

Leaving that charger in the electric outlet did blew my fuse!

Leave a comment

Filed under Biodiversity, Climate Change, Corporate Social Responsibility, Sustainability

Leave a Reply

