Is Backward Sustainable? I think that’s full of BS

Its more than twenty years since the Rio Summit, something that drove me to pursue a career in environmental management and development work that my mother worried about during the early years of my careers. Since it requires a lot hiking, mountain climbing and a few brushes with separatist groups in protected areas. It has also meant my periodic exposure to toxic waste water which my mother thought was pure stench. My mother has since passed away but I kept on pursuing this career path.

Unlike most of my peers who have decided to leave the country and joined the economic brain drain, I was still here, living where I had lived the rest of my life. It is this familiarity on the history of a place that makes me conclude, there is truly a degradation in the economic situation and proliferation of urban decay. Yet we still report in global indexes that our overall carbon footprint is still very minimal. That is such a paradox.

Is there really sustainable development is your carbon footprint is low? What if you’re dirt poor, you can’t even afford to eat,  therefore you have minimal need for resources, can you call that ultimate conservation?

Leave a comment

Filed under Biodiversity, Climate Change, Disaster Management, Sustainability

Leave a Reply

