New Year…Old Air…Same Earth

Low Visibility after celebrating the New Year

Its finally 2012…the Mayan Calendar has already ended, could it also mean the end of the world? Thankfully, I am not Mayan and I do not live in an ancient civilization where human sacrifice is perfectly acceptable. 2011 was a new year now that I am in my new career in the inspection and verification f ield.  My time was eaten up and I had enough experience to carry myself in 2012. Developing competence is a never-ending process.

Based on the Chinese Astrology, my birthdate has classified me into a fire sheep, fire ram or fire goat. Well it depends which ruminant is available. I do feel quite lucky about 2011, though with hesitation, I had to leave a perfectly planned and well connected US EPA project of 2010, I have no darn regrets. Bye Kurt and your curt comments!

Looking at the transition into the new year here in Manila. Filipino culture really has a lot of unsustainable stuff that it needs to purge out such as the addiction to explosive grade firecrackers.  Flights were redirected from Manila to Clark airport due to zero visibility.   Why are we willing to lose productivity for just one night of revelry…we’re willing to pollute just to get through with one night of noise.  That’s it… a new year but same old air and same earth.

Leave a comment

Filed under Climate Change, Disaster Management, Pollution Control

Leave a Reply

